Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

What are the best/better test methods for determining oil cut? These wells have high water cut

Status
Not open for further replies.

PressEquip

Civil/Environmental
Oct 26, 2009
CA
Hello,

I'm not a petroleum engineer, please be understanding of my limit knowledge

My desire is to determine the best test method for measuring oil cut to an accuracy precision of ±0.1% volume. Test needs to be judged from economic perspective too. Needs to be practical and economical.

Situation: 20 to 30 wells flow to a battery. At the battery there is water knock-out, settling tank, treater and other equipment. Most of the wells have high water cut, as high as 99% water by volume, some even higher. Skimming operation.

Current tank test is reasonably accurate but it quite involved.

Typical graduated cylinder test (1L sample) is not accurate enough (~±0.4% to 0.5% precision accuracy). Maybe there is more precise glass ware available, any comments are appreciated.

Industrial flow meters (multi-fluid), are expensive, need to be calibrated and when less than ~5% oil cut typically don't have good enough accuracy (maybe ±1% precision accuracy)

Do you know of standard ASTM, API, AGA or other standards that provide a standard test method for oil/water cut?

What test method might be better or the best?

Thanks in advance for your response

Kind Regards,

PressEquip

A Fan of EngTips, share the knowledge

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Measuring anything to +/- 0.1% isn't easy or cheap, that's 1 part in a thousand.

Do you mean 0.1% of the overall liquid? Or something else?

At 99% water cut as you say this is a skimming operation. So 10 m3 or 10,000 litres will give you 100 litres. Are you trying to see if this 99.9 litres or 100.1 litres or 90 or 110 in 10,000?