Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What to learn for a bright future in the industry (Bridges) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bridge_Man

Structural
Apr 2, 2020
US
Hi,

It seems multiple states are moving forward with the BIM and 3D modeling for construction and plans and I want to be able to save my spot amongst those who can deliver such things in addition to the obvious technical abilities. I want to get your thoughts on what should I be focusing on for a bright future in the industry.

Abilities:
1- I have 4 years of experience in the bridge engineering industry
2- going for my PE soon
3- I have decent technical capabilities and codes interpretation capabilities
4- I have decent knowledge in advanced 3-D modeling (SAP2000 and MIDAS)
5- I have very basic knowledge in seismic engineering (I hate that) but my state is not big on seismic. and I can't (don't know how) deal with it on an advanced level or in modeling.
6- I have OK MicroStation capabilities. and this is where I would like to largen my horizon, I would very much like to be able to use both MicroStation and Inroads with a high level of experience. I sincerely believe that those two tools distinguish so many engineers from others. not just drafting by laying out the work, and I believe 3D modeling for construction is very close in our industry.

What are your thoughts. this is an open discussion, no wrong answers here.

Thank You !

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

PEinc. You are correct, I agree. but many states are moving in that direction in a few years. that is why I want to be ahead of time. I think FDOT and NY are examples of those states (not yet, but sometime in the future).

Thanks for your insight