Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wood truss connections

Status
Not open for further replies.

raceyENG

Structural
Nov 3, 2003
US
This is my first time on the forum, so I am seeing how this works. I am in the process of re-designing a truss. It is a truss over a garage that previously had a 10' span in the middle with a room, that is now being expanded to 12'. I need to spec connector plates (nailed) for the new connections that are a result of moving the interior truss members. I have already found all resulting forces, but I need to design the connection plates.
Which manufacturers sell these plates?
I know Simpson has some, but not load rated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

raceyENG,
Is this a floor or roof truss? What type of "connection plates"? What type of forces (lateral, axial)?

ERV: It is a roof truss. I was planning on using some kind of nailed metal plate, but if you have other suggestions I would like to hear. I am running like a max 2100lb axial load in the members themselves. I am not designing for lateral. Do you need anything else?

It sounds to me that you are designing connections for the truss members (such as webs and cords) themselves. Is this the case?

Yes, that is the case. I am trying to find out what manufacturers supply these plates, and where I might find a design guideline. Sorry for the confusion I am causing.

Thanks. The only problem is that I cannot use pressure plates (contractor does not have a hydraulic press). I need to use some kind of a nailed plate, and the Mitek ones are just the toothed pressure type. Is it possible to just use OSB and nail it to the members? I have never done one of these. Thank you for your help.