Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Working where everybody hates each other 23

Status
Not open for further replies.

Space213

Mechanical
Oct 27, 2017
US
I work at a sales driven startup where everybody seems to hate each other or have constant disagreements. Its fairly a new idea and what i see is people who are just fighting to prove themselves to who knows what.
It gets to a point where i become the punching bag to it because im a junior engineer while the directors are just worried about their reputation. Is this very usual in the workforce?
We can never stick to a design envelope then i am expected to change designs and all documents that follow in a nick of time so operations who is already the biggest blamer ever can just go on and get products out his own way.
Im 2yrs in and im like id rather suffer working for myself or try then deal with this constant animosity it almost feels like the upper guys just dont know what they're doing lol.

Guys ever deal with crap like this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sounds like a typical dysfunctional family; you can become as dysfunctional or leave. Clearly upper management isn't working well, or at all, or they're the ones causing/instigating the dysfunctionality. As with many other workplaces, there's a lesson to be learned, and then you move on the next class.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

gallery-1493048971-9146efea629aaa64fd5b42091842146c_tifyjh.jpg

EDMS Australia

"Is this very usual in the workforce?"

In a surprising number of companies it seems it is, but that doesn't make it right or efficient.

If you have no effective management structure or person / people to talk to about this who actually want to change the culture of the company, then as said above, sharpen the CV and get looking.