Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

An alternative path? 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

nerdster

Civil/Environmental
Jul 16, 2015
US
I am a fairly new engineer. I've been in consulting for about a year now. I'm seriously questioning whether it was a good idea to go to school for engineering, particularly civil/environmental. Had I taken my coursework in a different order, I probably would have gone for mechanical or chemical. Regardless, I have these degrees now, but am not really satisfied with my work. Do you know of any paths outside of traditional engineering careers that people with engineering degrees have successfully taken?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Many. IMHO, at its essence Engineering is "problem solving." The world is always in desperate need of people who can look at a difficult situation, think analytically, chop it up into manageable chunks, and form a plan of action to create a solution. My friend from Grad School told me about her father who got an Engineering degree and discovered it wasn't his "life's calling." He charted a course to pursue and attain a Ph.D. in Psychology and sailed that boat until he retired. I can't put a number on the quantity of people I know with an Engineering degree who successfully went into a career in Sales. When younger, I arrogantly thought they were wasting their degree. Looking back on my career, I kinda wish I had.

TygerDawg
Blue Technik LLC
Virtuoso Robotics Engineering