Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Bridge collapse during concrete pour

Status
Not open for further replies.
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Condolences to the families. This should never happen.

AP_u35yg3.jpg

AP

Google_Earth_nb3xje.jpg

Google Earth 39°21'37.91"N 94°18'55.62"W

Im not a civil engineer but from the news press i see that this type of collapses occurs quite often.

--- Best regards, Morten Andersen

Somehow I missed this - yikes. Hits close to home because I used to do bridge falsework design in my first position.

Reading the Courier Tribune article, some poor 3rd party inspector just got thrown under the bus. It's highly likely that inspector was only checking rebar layouts. In my experience, Formwork and Falsework pre-pour inspections were handled by the designer of those items. Given the size of the construction company, I doubt they have an in-house engineer for this.

I'll be interested to see if there was an issue with the sequencing/placement of the concrete, or if there was an issue with the construction of the falsework, or if the falsework design was insufficient.

Please note that is a "v" (as in Violin) not a "y".

I was just about to say that windlandv.... I agree that WSP was likely checking the permanent rebar.

Lehman construction is moderately sized -- they might not have a stamping PE on staff, but depending on the MODOT specs they might not have needed one for this bridge falsework.

If I had to issue a way-too-preliminary guess, I'd be taking a look at the ground support condition under the shoring towers.

Lomarandil (Structural) said:
depending on the MODOT specs they might not have needed one for this bridge falsework