Excessive Pump Nozzle Load - Suggestions to reduce it? 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gears6580

Mechanical
May 5, 2024
NZ
Hello All,

I am new to pipe engineering, and I am trying to do pipe stress analysis to learn the software(Autopipe). I would like to get your opinion on routing the followng pipe based on your experience to reduce the nozzle load on the centrifugal pumps. I would also appreciate if you could point me out to good resource for pipe engineering best practices.

Info:
Medium - Water
Ambient temp - 15 C
Temperature - 95 C
Material - A312- TP316L Stainless steel schedule 10
Pipe Size - DN150
Pump Suction - DN65

Constraints -
Pumps and tank cannot be moved
Height of the pipe cannot be altered, any expansion loop must be horizontal
Pumps may run in any configuration i.e. they can run simultaneously or may work on single pump(either or)
Prefer not to use expansion bellows

Layout drawing attached. Any help/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Screenshot_2024-05-06_134455_yg9vyl.png

Screenshot_2024-05-06_134534_jtsiee.png

[URL unfurl="true"]https://res.cloudinary.com/engineering-com/image/upload/v1714961534/tips/0092_001_jfmqym.pdf[/url]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Screenshot_20240506-082628_PDF_Reader_-_Hi_Read_xdjlrd.jpg

Pressure is?

You don't leave us a lot of options.
Remove the guide on the loop.
Remove other unnecessary guides. Replace them with vertical supports.
Extend the loop. 1500mm is nothing. Probably needs 5m.
Widen the loop. 750mm is nothing. Probably needs 3m min.
Keep on extending the 1500mm dimension until it works.
Add another loop if needed.

--Einstein gave the same test to students every year. When asked why he would do something like that, "Because the answers had changed."

The pressure is 4 bar.

The problem is when only one of the pump is working, the temperature difference in pump 1 line (15 C) and pump 2 line (95 C) causes opposing loads on the pump nozzle.

thank you for your advice.