Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

M10x1.5 thread tapping

Status
Not open for further replies.

jswiontek

Mechanical
Aug 19, 2002
US
I am trying to tap a 3/8" mild steel plate for a M10x1.5 thread but after the tapping process the screw is has too much play. We are using a .336 in. hole and a M10-1.5xD5 3 flute spiral tap. I am new to metric threads so am not familiar with the tolerance classes. Could someone please suggest an appropriate process, drill, and tap?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think your pre-tap size is too large, giving you that extra play. Try a .332 pre-tap hole diameter. The 3 flute spiral tap should work fine.

You didn't mention if this was being hand tapped, or done on a drill press or CNC machine. If hand tapping, switch to a more stable process with a fixtured drill press, or CNC. "The attempt and not the deed confounds us."

The thread is a 60 degree thread. We are currently using a floating head for our manual drill press while clamping the part to a table. I will try a smaller pre-tap hole and will let you know how it turns out. Thanks.

We used the smaller pre-tapped hole but saw no improvement in the fit of the screw. The thread holds the appropriate torque when assembled but I am still concerned about the looseness of the fit over time. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Metric hardware is usually rated at class 6H/6G and has a looser fit when standard inch class 2A/2B threads are concerned. I think you'll have to specify higher tolerance on your metric sizes if you want a tighter feel (on the order of 4G/6G).

Below are some links that might help.

"The attempt and not the deed confounds us."

there may be some more variables at play here. are you actually measuring the hole after drilling to see if the drills are drilling the hole to the specified size? if not, you may want to check this.