Some symbol help please 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

itsmoked

Electrical
Feb 18, 2005
US
FETs_rlkhjw.png

The original designer has passed so I'm having to reverse engineer this whole thing. It's got a lot of these two types of symbols.

What are Q9 and Q10??

Keith Cress
kcress -

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

They're MOSFETs. Presumably, one is an n-channel and the other is a p-channel; Q9 is supposedly n-channel and Q10 is p-channel, based on
[edit]btw, that symbol collection is ANCIENT; the date of the book is only about 3 years after when the first MOSFET-based ICs came out.

circuit-symbol-transistor-mosfet-enhancement-02.gif

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

Agree. MOSFET:s created lots of confusion when they were introduced some 50 years ago. Many different symbols and, to add insult to injury, there were also enrichment and depletion types, which wasn't obvious from the symbols. And still isn't. Do you have any type numbers? There are old data books on some of the early devices.

Gunnar Englund
--------------------------------------
Half full - Half empty? I don't mind. It's what in it that counts.

Yeah, old as dirt Mike. LOL
I gave it a long look but also didn't find anything close.

IR; I think those symbols are mis-marked! Notice the arrow directions compared to these two symbols I just cut out of data sheets.

P-Channel_ufwzao.png

N-Channel_x5iwlf.png

The author of the schematic was a bit eclectic stuffing more than 200 parts, including 15 ICs, on a single 8-1/2x11 page leaving lots of details out, like part numbers of these devices, and the whole shebang is controlled by an FPGA and it's only presence in the schematic is some round circles with pin numbers.
qp2kcm.gif

Thanks for the discussion.

Keith Cress
kcress -

I think that a black box approach would be better than reverse-engineering.