Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Jerkholes at the office 14

Status
Not open for further replies.

HVACctrl

Mechanical
Dec 13, 2002
US
This has happened more than once and is happening one again- running into total jerks at the office. At my previous job, it was the boss. He was very disrespectful and crude. I couldn't deal with or even believe someone would be that way.

Now I am working for a controls contractor. There are two "pseudo-engineers" (no engineering degree or education, but in the role as "engineers") who, although they are not my bosses, are fairly well-anchored and influential in the company (small company). They are both pretty negative towards me. I am a mechanical engineering graduate and will be testing for my PE license in 3 weeks, although a license is not required in this position.

Just curious if others have expereinced total jerks in the office- those who, you know you can't smart off to because they can either fire you or get you fired.

How do you deal with it?

Am I possibly being too submissive to start off so that they sense this and take advantage of my good nature?

Thanks for any ideas.

Ed

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

“This has happened more than once and is happening once again”

Seem like a pattern for you. Perhaps you should consider yourself unlucky for running into these types so often or take the time for some reflection.

Do you feel superior to those crude people?
Your question, “Am I possibly being too submissive?” At first glance, I think you are too critical and lack the ability to accept people that are different than you.

To answer your question, “How do you deal with it?” I don’t have the problem, so I might be one of those types of people you are talking about.

Then again, maybe you are just unlucky.

Your style and tone belie your subject matter.

People who say "in my humble opinion," generally aren't.