Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Working Abroad

Status
Not open for further replies.

SP777

Structural
Mar 21, 2013
CA
Hello - I'm interested in finding out if working in another country is at all possible for someone of my qualifications. If so, then does anyone have any advice on how to apply? Is there any agencies that help with this sort of thing, or do you apply to companies direct?

I'm a resident of Ontario, Canada and completed my undergraduate degree in civil engineering here (BASc) with an emphasis on structural. I then spent a little over a year (14 months) working in a structural consulting firm (in Ontario) as a designer/EIT. A good opportunity for research came up, so I decided to leave that job to pursue my Master's degree at the same university as my undergraduate, again with a focus on structural engineering.

I will have my MASc in a couple of months and have over one year of experience in Canada as an EIT under the guidance of a P. Eng, so I can receive my licence after two more years of experience, even if it is not in Canada. This is why I'm interested in working in a different country, since I am young and have no real obligations. I'm interested in working in the US (west coast), Australia, England and possibly somewhere in South America (can speak spanish).